2012-2013 Concert Season: Symphonies

Fri October 19 & Sat October 20, 2012 8pm

Mahler's Farewell
Mahler Symphony No. 9 in D major

Sun December 2, 2012 2pm & 4pm

Family Concert
Lemony Snicket: The Composer is Dead

Nathaniel Stookey The Composer is Dead
Joyce Kulhawik, narrator
Josef Suk Meditation on an Old Bohemian Carol
Aaron Copland Hoe-Down
with the Westford Academy String Orchestra, Kenneth Culver, director

Fri January 25 & Sat January 26, 2013 8pm Young Artist 2013 and Shostakovich
Ludwig van Beethoven Leonore Overture No. 3
Dimitri Shostakovich Symphony No. 9 in E-flat major
Concerto to be played by the Young Artists Competition Winner
Pre-concert recitals 7:15pm by other competition honorees

Fri March 15 & Sat March 16, 2013 8pm

Bruckner
Sergei Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor
Peter Zazofsky, soloist
Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 6 in A major

Fri May 17 & Sat May 18, 2013 8pm, Sun May 19 2pm POPS 2013: Heroines, Saints & Witches
Antonin Dvorak Wanda Overture
Georg Frideric Handel Oboe Concoerto No. 3 in G minor, with Veronica Kenney, soloist
Bernard Hoffer Market Day in Castries from St. Lucia Morning
Jean Sibelius Pohjola's Daughter
George Gershwin/Hoffer Six, By George, Jeffrey Korn, baritone soloist
Johann Strauss Fata Morgana,Polka-Mazurka
Camille Saint-Saens Danse bacchanale from Samson and Delilah
Aaron Lebedev Rumenye! Rumenye! (Orchestration: Peter Mansfield)
Frederick Lowe My Fair Lady, audience sing-along led by Jeffrey Korn