2008-2009 Concert Season: Collaborations

Prague, Moscow and Paris

Fri. October 17 & Sat. October 18, 2008, 8pm

 

Program features David Deveau in Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 2 & Debussy's Nocturnes with the Concord Women’s Chorus, Jane Ring Frank, Director. Also on the program: Mozart, Symphony No. 38 (Prague).

Roald Dahl's Little Red Riding Hood

Sun. Dec. 7, 2008 2pm & 4pm

 

Program showcases Concord-Carlisle High School Strings, Scott Knopf, Director, in Vaughn Williams' Concerto Grosso. Patterson's Little Red Riding Hood with actors from the Concord Players,  and Big Bad Wolf by Andy Vores provide the story theme.

Celebrating Youth-Elliott Carter-100 Years Young

Fri. January 30 & Sat. January 31, 2009, 8pm

 

Program includes Mendelssohn's Symphony #3 and Elliott Carter's Suite from Pocahontas. Bobby Chen, winner of the Orchestra’s Annual Young Artist Competition performs Shostakovich Cello Concerto No. 1. Pre-concert recital of runners-up Daniel Kim and Eric Lu at 7:15 p.m.

Brahms and Prokofiev

Fri. March 27 & Sat. March 28, 2009, 8pm

Violinist Bayla Keyes and cellist Jan Muller-Szeraws perform Brahms' magnificent Double Concerto. Also on the program is Prokofiev's Symphony No. 7.

Concord POPS:    MADE IN THE USA

Fri. May 15, & Sat. May 16, 2009, 8pm

Sun. May 17, 2009 2pm

 

Celebrate American music with composers including Bernstein, Gould and Gershwin. Salute big bands with Custer's Salute. Play trumpet (Toy Trumpet by Raymond Scott) or typewriter (Leroy Anderson, The Typewriter). Enjoy Hoffer's Four, By George (an arrangement of Gershwin songs) with vocalist Steve Marvin and McBride's Variety Day Violin Concerto. Sing along with Davis/Schaefer's I'd Like to Teach World to Sing, Gershwin's 'S Wonderful, and Youmans' Tea for Two